A Quick Note on Brad Watson

Posted: August 20, 2010 in News and General Posts
Tags: , , ,

Photo by Nell Hanley

So I’m deviating a little from the general theme of this blog.  The next book I’ll be reviewing is Brad Watson‘s Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives, a collection of short stories published by W.W. Norton.  Watson–author of the collection, Last Days of the Dog-Men, and the novel, The Heaven of Mercury–wrote a story that appeared in The New Yorker in April 2009.  “Visitation” really struck a chord with me because it covers themes and the subject matter that I’ve explored in my writing.  In this story, a divorced man contemplates his role as father to his son and wrestles with the idea of how to connect with him during the boy’s visit.  When I saw “Visitation” included in Watson’s new collection, I knew that I needed to get the book and spread the word about it to other readers.

To read “Visitation,” click here.

Leave a Reply

